top of page

Mousetrap Challenge 1

So I am doing a bolt in mosaic where I get mousetraps and have to make them into things. For this first challenge, I had to make a car out of the mousetrap. To be honest, I had absolutely no idea on how to go about this challenge. I didn't even know how a mousetrap worked until now! So I used wikihow as a guideline. I didn't follow it exactly but I did kind of follow it's instructions. For my wheels, I used some cardboard I found in the maker space. I used a small jar of paint to create the circles. For the body, I found some material that I think was wood. It was brown and hard to cut with sizors. I ended up using a saw to cut it. To make the car move, I took the part that you move back in order to set the trap, tied a string to it and attached the string to the wheel axle(though I'm not sure it really works that great). I ran into a lot of troubles trying to build my mousetrap car. One of the biggest issues was materials. A few thing that I couldn't find were eye hooks and tape. The eye hooks were to hold the axles in. Since I couldn't find any I used strips of cardboard to hold the axles(If I were to do this again I wouldn't have used cardboard strips to hold the axles). I couldn't find tape so I used hot glue to hold the mousetrap to it's body and to keep the wheels on the axles. It was difficult working with the wheels because I couldn't get them to dry perfectly straight and each time I went to put a new wheel on the others would move a bit. I really don't think mine would be able to run straight. As I said before, I couldn't get the wheels on straight. So that's it for challenge 1! See you all soon!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page